Regional Environmental, Science & Technology, and Health (ESTH)


The Department of State established the Regional Environmental, Science & Technology, and Health (ESTH) Hub for Central and Eastern Europe in 2001.  A Director and two Specialists – one on environmental and clean energy issues and the other on science & technology and health issues – carry out the regional work of the Hub from the U.S. Embassy in Budapest.

The Hub focuses its efforts on the following 21 countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, North Macedonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, and Ukraine .

Our Mission

To increase cooperation on trans-boundary environment, science and technology and health issues.

What We Do

  • Promote sustainable development and a smart energy future to combat climate change;
  • Support trans-boundary water cooperation and nature conservation;
  • Encourage strengthened environmental protection through policy changes and law enforcement training;
  • Advocate for policies that foster innovation, economic growth and shared prosperity; and
  • Manage relevant projects that bring together governments and stakeholders across the region.